Ethnic & Racial Issues

Eleanor Seaton, Chair 2013-2017 Eleanor.Seaton@asu.edu
Charissa Cheah 2013-2017 ccheah@umbc.edu
Patrick Leman 2013-2017 Patrick.Leman@kcl.ac.uk
Enrique W. Neblett Jr. 2015-2019 eneblett@unc.edu
Vaishali Raval 2015-2019 ravalvv@miamioh.edu
Susan M. Rivera 2013-2017 srivera@ucdavis.edu
Emilie Smith 2011-2017 Emilie.Smith@uga.edu
Brendesha Tynes 2015-2019 btynes@usc.edu
Dawn P. Witherspoon 2011-2017 dpw14@psu.edu
Natasha Cabrera, Governing Council Representative 2015-2017 ncabrera@umd.edu
Michael Cunningham, Governing Council Representative 2015-2017 mcunnin1@tulane.edu
Jose Michael Gonzalez, SECC Representative 2015-2017 jose.gonzalez@uconn.edu
Matt Ferrett, Staff Liaison 2016- mferrett@srcd.org

Mission Statement

The Ethnic and Racial Issues Committee is responsible for the development and oversight of activities pertaining to the participation of minority scholars in the Society for Research in Child Development and for promoting developmental research on ethnic minority children and adolescents. In order to carry out this responsibility the committee's activities are focused on the following three areas.

  1. The development of an academic pipeline with the purpose of increasing the number of ethnic minority scholars conducting research in the field of child development (broadly defined). As part of this charge, the committee oversees the Frances Degen Horowitz Millennium Scholars Program (FDHMSP), assists with reviewing FDHMSP applications, and encourages ERI members to participate in FDHMSP activities.
  2. To examine the current state of research in the field and to promote opportunities that result in increased levels of research focused on the development of ethnic minority children and adolescents. To provide guidance and recommendations to the Society concerning the inclusion of such research through the Society's publications, biennial meetings, and other external outlets.
  3. To serve as a liaison to other groups and organizations concerned with research on ethnic minority children and adolescents i.e., the Asian Caucus, the Black Caucus, the Latino Caucus and the International Committee).