Interdisciplinary

 

To contact the committee, please email the committee chairs

Mission Statement

The committee takes its charge from the statement of the multidisciplinary task force:

SRCD will reflect the fact that an understanding of development requires the perspectives and methods of multiple disciplines. SRCD encompasses psychology, human development, sociology, family studies, biology, education, pediatrics, psychiatry, social work, public health, economics, anthropology, and other disciplines that are relevant for an understanding of development. It embraces the rich diversity of quantitative and qualitative methods associated with these specializations. As the scientific world leans increasingly towards division and compartmentalization, SRCD's role in encouraging a multidisciplinary perspective for understanding human development becomes increasingly important. SRCD will increase its efforts to provide a forum in which scientists of various disciplines can share research and interdisciplinary scientific methods and to promote a receptive climate for truly transdisciplinary research that will advance understanding of the complexities of child and adolescent development.


Activities and News

2015 Interdisciplinary Committee Coffee Hour Brochure

2015 Interdisciplinary Committee Coffee Hour Flyer

Back to top

Awards

Back to top

Programs

In this page, we include some suggestions of interdisciplinary programs of potential interest for graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and faculty. The list of programs is not comprehensive, so you can contact the Committee to ask for the consideration of other programs.

Back to top

Events

2015

2016

2017

Back to top

INTERDISCIPLINARY SPECIAL ISSUES

·      The journal Research in Human Development has just published a new special issue calls “Just one wish for the study of human development” edited by Richard A. Stetterston and Megan McClelland (Oregon State University). The issue includes the section “Interdisciplinary collaboration and playing well with others” which contains the following papers:

Back to top

INTERDISCIPLINARY AWARDEES PRESENTATIONS AND INTERVIEWS

Carol Worthman (2015 SRCD Interdisciplinary Awardee)

Tom Boyce (2015 SRCD Interdisciplinary Awardee)

Back to top

CONTACT

Katherine Magnuson, Co-Chair 2015-2019 kmagnuson@wisc.edu
Jennifer S. Silk, Co-Chair 2015-2019 jss4@pitt.edu
Lori A. Francis 2015-2019 lfrancis@psu.edu
Lee T. Gettler 2017-2021 Lee.T.Gettler.1@nd.edu
Alan L. Mendelsohn 2017-2021 alm5@nyu.edu
Prachi Shah 2017-2021 prachis@med.umich.edu
Andrew J. Fuligni, Governing Council Representative 2015-2019 afuligni@ucla.edu
Emily A. Abel, SECC Representative 2017-2019 abel5@purdue.edu
Amy Glaspie, Staff Liaison 2007-  aglaspie@srcd.org

Back to top