# Changes in SRCD's Emeriti Membership Model

SRCD Emeriti Members,

Thank you for your continued membership in the Society for Research in Child Development (SRCD). As an Emeriti, your involvement inspires the student and early career members to broaden their network of developmental scientists and collaborate on innovative projects. In the past year, the SRCD Membership Committee has been thinking about how to support graduate students and early career scholars through opportunities such as seed grants, mentorship, travel awards, and networking opportunities.

The Membership Committee began evaluating the membership structure to ensure it was equitable and accessible. To do this, they compared membership structures from other scientific societies in the social sciences and consulted the American Psychological Association's salary report. The committee recommended that SRCD move to an income-based membership model. This model maintains SRCD's current membership categories but provides a broader range of options based on an individual's income. This new model will now include a membership fee for Emeriti members. The new model will also lower fees for undergraduate and graduate students.

Your membership fees will help to fund more grants and awards programs so that SRCD can better support more graduate students and early career scholars on their professional journey.

This change in membership rates represents a significant shift for SRCD. We want to honor our longstanding members by providing a space to share your ideas for how we can build multigenerational career

opportunities to benefit early career scholars as well as emeriti.

The Membership Committee leadership invites you to participate in one of the engagement sessions below.

- 1. Tuesday, April 30 at 11:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. ET REGISTER HERE FOR APRIL 30
- 2. Thursday, May 2 at 11:00 a.m. 12:00 p.m. ET REGISTER HERE FOR MAY 2

Sincerely,

### Saima Hedrick

Executive Director, SRCD

#### **Kristina McDonald**

Co-chair, Membership Committee

## **Fantasy Lozada**

Co-chair, Membership Committee

#### **Eleanor Seaton**

Governing Council Representative, Membership

### Lisa Lopez

Governing Council Representative, Membership Committee