SRCD Awards Ceremony & Business Meeting Thursday, April 18, 2013

The Awards Ceremony was held immediately after the Business Meeting.

The SRCD Senior Awards Committee, co-chaired by Oscar Barbarin and Robert Crosnoe, selected nine SRCD members to receive five prestigious awards. At the Thursday evening session, these nine award recipients were recognized for their outstanding contributions to developmental science across the award categories listed below. The awards and recipients were:

Distinguished Contributions to Cultural and Contextual Factors in Child Development

- Barbara Rogoff
- Velma McBride Murry
- Patricia Greenfield

Distinguished Contributions to Public Policy for Children

John Love

Distinguished Contributions to the Society for Research in Child Development

Michael Cunningham

Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Child Development

- Judy DeLoache
- Michael Lewis
- Stephen Ceci

Distinguished Contributions to the Lives of Children

Melinda Gates

Five individuals, selected by the SRCD Junior Awards Committee, co-chaired by Elizabeth J. Susman and Tom Weisner, were recipients of the **2013 Early Career Research Contributions Award**. An honorarium of \$1,000 accompanied this award. The following five recipients of this award have exceptionally strongly distinguished themselves as researchers and scholars, as evidenced through research, publications, and scholarly activities.

- Jennifer Pfeifer, University of Oregon
- Felix Warneken, Harvard University
- Aprile Benner, University of Texas, Austin
- Andres De Los Reyes, University of Maryland, College Park
- Jelena Obradovic, Stanford University

Recipients for the final award, the SRCD Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award, were selected by the SRCD Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee, chaired by Melanie Killen. Selection was based on a set of criteria, including the quality of the dissertation, publications emerging from the project, as well as the nominee's current position and engagement in the field of child development research. Recipients received a \$500 honorarium.

- Rachel Farr, University of Virginia
- Eva Telzer, University of California, Los Angeles
- Christina Weiland, Harvard Graduate School of Education
- David Yeager, Stanford University